Unity / Mono

Jun 27, 2012 at 8:45 PM

Hi

I'm very interested in exploring the possibility of getting a working tracker playing module working from within Unity. I'm an old games coder so I could look through the source, but I'd like to ask some advice about how one might best approach this, specifically with regards to the mono sound renderer I saw mentioned on the SharpMod wishlist. It would have to compile as C# Unity script, which uses a modified version of Mono based on the .NET 2.0 Framework.

Not only do I like tracker music and believe it would be great to hear more of it in games, I'm always looking for ways to make the smallest download size possible, and you can't get music much smaller than proper chiptunes. Not only that but a working tracker playing module with a good API could allow the implementation of some creative music-based game designs.

Cheers

Coordinator
Jul 2, 2012 at 4:35 PM

Hi

I've not the time to make a Mono version for the moment. So, if you would use the Core of sharpmod, you need to have a Sound buffer access that can read by thread the SharpMod Output. If you take a tour of the differents sound renderer you'll see that any methods used read the player GetBytes() method.  

So, if Unity have a buffered sound system that can accept a byte array, it's possible to make it working :)

I use some .NET 3.5 features in the core, so, there are easy to found and replace with old .Net 2.0 code.

In Conclusion, I'm agree with you for the tracker's modules, it's still a good format to provide high quality music with a minimum of file size. It's with this thing in mind that I was motived to make SharpMod :)

Nov 8, 2012 at 7:28 PM
Edited Nov 9, 2012 at 12:20 AM

I'm also interested in using SharpMod in a Unity project. Unity recently added support for playing MOD/XM files natively, but the project I'm working on requires interaction with (and run-time composition of) chiptunes - SharpMod seems like a perfect fit!